Daily Prayer 291, 2022

Dear Lord, You are the only God in Heaven above or the earth below. I walk before You with all my heart. I bless Your name in the morning when I rise and in the evening when I sleep, and all the day when Your creation fills my eye.

I am thankful that when I experience trouble, You are waiting and wanting to help. Teach me to look to You and to rest in Your kind and loving care until You deliver me safely home. When I see and hear the thousand miracles of Your creation, let me see them anew, recalling that You have made them, and no other.

Help me to be at peace, with God and with his other children. And, may we love one another as Christ taught us. May I follow the example of good men of old, and may God comfort and help me and all who believe in Him, both in this world and in the world which is to come.

Amen

About St Jude

https://spotifyanchor-web.app.link/e/wMLxJjw5eub

Novena to St Jude, Day 1

Day 1 – St. Jude Novena ….. 19th October

Patron Saint of Hopeless Cases, Desperate Situations, impossible causes.

Let us begin, In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen. 

Most holy Apostle, St. Jude, faithful servant and friend of Jesus, the Church honors and invokes you universally, as the patron of difficult cases, of things almost despaired of, Pray for me, I am so helpless and alone. Intercede with God for me that He bring visible and speedy help where help is almost despaired of. Come to my assistance in this great need that I may receive the consolation and help of heaven in all my necessities, tribulations, and sufferings, particularly 

(Mention your request here…) 

And that I may praise God with you and all the saints forever. I promise, O Blessed St. Jude, to be ever mindful of this great favor granted me by God and to always honor you as my special and powerful patron, and to gratefully encourage devotion to you. 

Amen

Most Holy apostle, most faithful friend and servant of Jesus Christ, Jude Thaddeus, who is invoked as the special advocate of those who are in trouble and almost without hope, pray for me that by your merits, I may receive consolation in my tribulations and difficulties … and finally, with you and all the elect, I may love and bless God eternally. Amen.

 Our Father… 

Hail Mary… 

Glory Be…

About St Jude

About St. Jude the Apostle

Saint Jude was one of the original apostles and is also known as Thaddeus. He is the author of the canonical epistle and describes himself as Jude, the servant of Jesus Christ and brother of James the Less. The term could also mean “brethren of the Lord” describing their closeness with Jesus

The epistle he authored is directed to the Churches of the East, particularly to the Jewish Converts.

Tradition asserts that Jude the Apostle preached in Mesopotamia, Syria, Samaria and Persia. According to Eusebius, he returned to Jerusalem in the year 62 AD and assisted in the election of James as bishop of Jerusalem.

He then left to spread the Word of Christ to Persia and suffered martyrdom in Armenia which was part of the Persian empire. In time, St. Jude came to be regarded as the special patron of “hopeless cases”, possibly because it was felt that devotion to him had been neglected for some time, most likely because of his name being the same as the traitor Judas (Iscariot). A little office of St. Jude appeared and in abbreviated form, the main prayer reads:

Most Holy apostle, most faithful friend and servant of Jesus Christ, Jude Thaddeus, who is invoked as the special advocate of those who are in trouble and almost without hope, pray for me that by your merits, I may receive consolation in my tribulations and difficulties … and finally, with you and all the elect, I may love and bless God eternally. Amen.

Feast Day

Feast Day: October 28
Name Meaning: “Gentleness of character”
Patron Saint of: Desperate situations, forgotten causes, workers hospitals, impossible causes.