The Holy Guardian Angels

The concept of an angel assigned to guide and nurture each human being is a development of Catholic doctrine and piety based on Scripture but not directly drawn from it. Jesus’ words in Matthew 18:10 best support the belief: “See that you do not despise one of these little ones, for I say to you that their angels in heaven always look upon the face of my heavenly Father”

Devotion to the angels began to develop with the birth of the monastic tradition. Saint Benedict (July 11) gave it impetus and Saint Bernard of Clairvaux (August 20), the great 12th-century reformer, was such an eloquent spokesman for the guardian angels that angelic devotion assumed its current form in his day.

Daily Prayer 273, 2022

Dear Lord, fill my spirit, and the spirit of all the people today. Fill us with faith and hope, for a new day has dawned. Set our hearts today to worship You in spirit and in truth.

I acknowledge and confess my guilt to You, Lord. Ease me of the burden of my sins. Give me grace that I may rise from the slumber of sin into the newness of life.

Let me live according to Your Holy Word. Make me to know what is acceptable in Your sight. And, bless the people of this land, Lord.

Amen.

Have a blessed and Happy new month.