Introduction to the Book of Obadiah

THE BOOK OF OBADIAH

This book, the shortest among the twelve minor prophets, is a single twenty-one-verse oracle against Edom. Nothing is known of the author, although his prophecy against Edom, a neighbor and rival of Israel, indicates a date of composition sometime after the Babylonian destruction of Jerusalem in 587 B.C., when the Edomites apparently took advantage of the helpless people of Judah and Jerusalem (v. 11; Ps 137:7). The relations and rivalries between Israel and Edom are reflected in oracles against Edom (Is 34; Ez 35) and in the stories of their ancestors, the brothers Jacob and Esau (Gn 25–33).

The prophecy is a bitter cry for vengeance against Edom for its pride and its crimes. Mount Esau in Edom will be occupied and ravaged by the enemy, while Mount Zion will be restored to its former sanctity and security. The triumphant refrain of Israelite eschatology will be heard once more: “The kingdom is the Lord’s!” The opening verses of this prophecy (vv. 1–5) are very similar to part of an oracle against Edom in Jer 49 (vv. 9, 14–16), suggesting that Israel’s prophets drew upon traditional language and idioms in the composition of prophetic speech.

The book may be divided as follows:

I. Edom’s Fall Decreed (1–7)

II. Edom’s Betrayal of Judah (8–14)

III. Edom’s Fall and Judah’s Restoration (15–21)

Daily Prayer 301, 2022

Dear God, Thank You for the another week to remember the glorious resurrection of Your Son our Lord Jesus Christ. It really makes us glad, O God. Give us this day such blessings through our worship of you, that the days to come may be spent in your service.

I offer to Your divine majesty my unfeigned praise and thanksgiving for all Your mercies towards me. You made me at first and have ever since sustained the work of Your own hand. You gave Your Son to die for me and have given me assurance of salvation.

Heavenly Father, You have graciously accepted me as a living member of Your Son our Savior Jesus Christ. You have blessed me with the grace of forgiveness through the sacrifice He made for me and for all people. Send me now into the world in peace, and grant me strength and courage to love and serve you with gladness and singleness of heart, through Christ our Lord.

Amen

ALL SAINTS NOVENA

Day 7, Novena…….. 29th Oct

Let us begin, In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, Amen

The Antiphon: O All ye Saints of God, vouchsafe to intercede for our salvation, and for that of all persons.

V. Be glad in our Lord, and rejoice ye just.

R. And Glory all ye right of Heart.

Let us Pray

Protect Thy people, O Lord: And, as we confide in the patronage of Thy Apostles, Peter and Paul, and of Thy other Apostles, so preserve and defend us continually. May all Thy Saints, we beseech Thee, O Lord, everywhere assist us; that whiles we celebrate their merits, we may find their patronage. Grant us Thy peace in our time, and drive away all wickedness from Thy Church. Direct our ways, actions and desires, and those of all Thy servants, in the prosperity of Thy saving conduct: Grant to our benefactors eternal blessings, and to the faithful departed, everlasting rest, through our Lord Jesus Thy Son. Amen.

V. O Lord, hear my Prayer.

R. And let my Cry come unto Thee.

V. Bless us our Lord.

R. Thanks be to God.

V. May the souls of the faithful departed, through the Mercy of God, rest in peace.

R. Amen.

O Blessed Saints of Paradise, the glorious Citizens of Heaven, as I render most humble thanks to God for all the good He hath done you; so I beseech you to remember me in your prayers, and obtain for me the entire remission of my sins, the amendment of my life, and imitation of your good spirit, and holy graces, that I may be perfectly reconciled to my Savior, and always please Him, but especially I recommend to you the hour of my death, that by your holy intercession my soul may depart this world in the grace of God, and immediately come to Life Everlasting.

Amen

(Mention your request here…)

Our Father…
Our Father,
Who art in heaven,
hallowed be Thy name;
Thy kingdom come;
Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread;
and forgive us our trespasses
as we forgive those who trespass against us;
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil. Amen

Hail Mary…
Hail Mary, full of grace the Lord is with you, blessed are you among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb Jesus,
Holy Mary Mother of God pray for us sinners now and the hour of our death.
Amen.

Glory Be…
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

All saints, Pray for us